The Public Servants

The Public Servants was originally Shelley Hirsch (voice), Phillip Johnston (soprano, alto saxophones), Dave Sewelson (alto, baritone saxophones), Bill Horvitz (guitar), Dave Hofstra (bass), Steve Moses (drums). Richard Dworkin later replaced Steve Moses on drums.

Other musicians who occasionally played with The Public Servants were John Zorn (saxophone), Wayne Horvitz (keyboards) and J.A. Deane (trombone).

They were around from 1980-1982 and played in New York at venues including CBGB, Hurrah, Danceteria, the Mudd Club, and TR3.

Their only formal release was a single 45RPM record – “Jungle Hotel” b/w “A Mistake”.

You can hear them here:

Jungle Hotel:

A Mistake: