Fast 'N' Bulbous
(photos by Lars Klove)

Fast 'N' Bulbous personnel

Gary Lucas, guitar
In addition to his years as soloist with Captain Beefheart and his Magic Band, including 2 albums, a world tour, and the video "Ice Cream For Crow," Gary has performed with Leonard Bernstein, Lou Reed, Nick Cave, Iggy Pop, Patti Smith, John Zorn, Future Sound of London, Matthew Sweet, Sophie B. Hawkins, Graham Parker, Dr. John, Adrian Sherwood, Mary Margaret O'Hara, The Woodentops, The Mekons, Peter Stampfel, Richard Barone, Jeff Buckley, Joan Osborne, Bryan Ferry, Kate and Anna McGarrigle, Geoff Muldaur, Eric Mingus, Jim Carroll, Bob Neuwirth, Kevin Coyne, Allen Ginsberg, Bob Weir, Rob Wasserman, The Plastic People of the Universe, Damo Suzuki & Michael Karoli of Can, David Johansen, DJ Spooky, and Van Dyke Parks. He has toured the world extensively as a soloist and with his band, Gods & Monsters, and widely performed hi score for the silent film The Golem. His most recent CDs are Improve The Shining Hour (Knitting Factory Works), Streets of Lost Brothers (Tzadik) and Level The Playing Field (Last Call).

Time Out New York recently said, "Gary Lucas is one of the only guitarists who matters."

Phillip Johnston, alto saxophone & arranger
has written music for films, including Paul Mazursky's "Faithful," Philip Haas' "The Music of Chance," and "Money Man," Doris Dörrie's "Paradise" & "Geld," and Henry Corra's "Umbrellas." He has also written for silent film (Tod Browning's "The Unknown", The Georges Méliès Project, and Teinosuke Kinugasa s "Page of Madness"; theatre ("Young Goodman Brown", with Richard Foreman, "Venus", with Suzan-Lori Parks, and "Drawn To Death" with Art Spiegelman); and dance (Karole Armitage's "The Predators' Ball" & Keely Garfield's "Minor Repairs Necessary" - for which he won a Bessie in 1999). During the 1980's, he lead the Microscopic Septet, and in the '90's, Big Trouble & The Transparent Quartet. Among his recent recordings are Rub Me The Wrong Way (Innova), Tales From The Cryptic, with Guy Klucevsek (Winter & Winter), and Music For Films (Tzadik).

The New Yorker has described him as "a world-class instrumentalist."

Jesse Krakow, bass
has worked with Kate Pierson (of The B-52's), Marilyn Crispell, Elliott Sharp, Ron Anderson, Patti Rothberg, Keaton Simons, and Scott Bruzenak. He is a member of Time of Orchids, PAK, Snuggle/Stencil, Angriest Pussycat, and is the leader of We Are The Musk Brigade. He has three CDs as a solo artist - Negative Fun, thatfunkyhippopjamthing, and Oceans In The Sun. Time of Orchids is releasing it's next record on Tzadik as part of The Composer Series. The record, entitled Sarcast While, features the guest vocals of Julee Cruise ("Twin Peaks") and will be released on April 26th. PAK just put out it's second record, Motel, on RA Sounds. The album features Ron Anderson, Keith Abrams, as well as guest appearances by Carla Kihistedt (from Sleepytime Gorilla Museum) and Tim Byrnes (Friendly Bears). PAK is touring Europe in the spring with the amazing Italian band Zu.

Richard Dworkin, drums
has performed and/or recorded with Deborah Harry, Heather Eatman, James White, Daniel Cartier, Earl King, Otis Rush, Bobby Radcliff, Samm Bennet & Chunk, Steve Almaas, Mick Taylor, Harry Shearer, Michael Callen, Joel Forrester, The Public Servants and The Microscopic Septet. He is presently touring/recording with Alex Chilton.

Rob Henke, trumpet
has played, toured, and recorded with Doctor Nerve, Marie McAuliffe's Ark Sextet, Illuminati, The Groove Collective, Whirligig, The Walter Thompson Orchestra, Diane Moser's Composer's Big Band, and The Ray Barretto Orchestra.He has recorded three CDs as a leader- The Bride, White Paws, and A Tale of Trevor Nor.

Joe Fiedler, trombone
has performed or recorded with Lee Konitz, Kenny Wheeler, Cecil Taylor, The Mingus Big Band, Wynton Marsalis and the Lincoln Center Jazz Orchestra, Myra Melford, Roswell Rudd, The Lionel Hampton Orchestra, and The Maria Schneider Orchestra.  Currently, he is a member of Anthony Braxton’s Tri-Centric Orchestra, Andrew Hill's Sextet+11, saxophonist Chris Jonas’ innovative group, The Sun Spits Cherries, drummer Ed Ware's Tree, and big bands led by pianists Jason Lindner and Satoko Fujii, among others.  In addition he has appeared on more than 50 recordings, including his 1999 debut CD as a leader, 110 Bridge St.for the CIMP label and his upcoming release for the Clean-Feed label, Joe Fiedler Plays the Music of Albert Mangelsdorff.

Dave Sewelson, baritone sax
has perfomed and/or recorded with Wayne Horvitz, Robin Holcomb, Saheb Sarbib, John Zorn, Roy Campbell, Elliot Sharp, Dee Pop, Frank Lowe, Pat Place, Billy Bang, Walter Perkins, Bobby Radcliff, Clayton Thomas, Kyosuke Otsuka, and The Microscopic Septet. He is currently a member of William Parker's Little Huey Creative Music Orchestra and leads Sewelsonics and The Daves.

Email Phillip Johnston.
Email Gary Lucas.

return to Fast 'N' Bulbous front page

return to front page of
return to front page of